RSS Feed

Mexican Rice Bowl

Last night, I did a little bit of cooking.  One of my favorite times to cook is in the middle of the night, but as far as food photography goes, not a very good time to take pictures.  I have no idea where my camera went, hence the reason why there is no picture.  And it didn’t even occur to me to take a picture until afterwards.  But from now on, I’ll make sure I get at least one picture, I promise! 

Recipe: Mexican Rice Bowl, which is in Rachael Ray’s All-Occasion Cookbook. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter 
  • 3/4 pound chicken tenders, cut into bite-size pieces
  • sald and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 cups white rice
  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon Sazon seasoning blend by Goya
  • 1/2 cup tomato salsa or taco sauce
  • 1/4 cup drained chopped olives and pimentos
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsely

Any Adaptations?: Yes- I used Gardein’s Chicken Tenders (a vegetarian alternate to chicken…from actual chickens) and vegetable broth in place of chicken and chicken broth. 

My Thoughts On The Recipe: I’ve made this recipe before, but it’s been a long time.  This is one of favorites, but this might have been my first time using salsa.  I’ll definitely be making it again.  It was really easy to make, which is fairly typical of Rachael Ray.     

A not-so-quick note about posting recipes: if it’s from a cookbook, I’ll list the ingredients, and talk about any changes I made to the recipe, but I won’t post the recipe itself.  It’s for a couple reasons. 

  1. I don’t want to spend the time typing up a recipe when it’s more about the experience of cooking.  I’m trying to become better at cooking, which requires me to cook.  It’s more about how easy I thought the recipe was to make, and the technique than the actual recipe. 
  2. It’s a copyright issue.  If I am understanding the U.S. Copyright Office correctly, you can post ingredients, but not the recipe itself.  Besides, it’s not my recipe, and I’m not comfortable just posting it.  And I definitely want to encourage everyone to check out the cookbook, which I’ll mention with every recipe.     

As for food blogs…read the above statements, because I’ll be following those self-imposed guidelines.  I’m not sure if adaptations of recipes are included, but to be on the safe side…I won’t post the recipe even if I do adapt it.

Hope you enjoyed this post, and having fun in the kitchen folks.

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

