RSS Feed

Allspice Crumb Muffins

Today’s recipe is the Allspice Crumb Muffins, which is found in Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking: From My Home To Yours.  Page 16, for anyone who’s interested.

The only ingredient not shown below is the salt, but I assure you, it made its way into the recipe.  It’s not the best picture, especially since the top part of the baking powder and vanilla extract got cut off.  I think my photography skills will get a lot better, especially if I make sure to get everything in there.

The Ingredients

And here’s the final product:

Allspice Crumb Muffins

The weird brown stuff on top of the muffin?  That’s supposed to be streusel.  I think I made something with a streusel topping before, and it turned out slightly better than this.  Not much though.  I hope I get better at it…at least the actual muffin came out pretty well!  But what if I don’t get better at streusel?  What if my streusel is doomed to be terrible and funny-looking?  Despite the funny-looking “Streusel” (which really isn’t struesel, but hey, at least I tried), it was pretty good.  But I’m biased.  On account of making it and everything.

I didn’t change anything from the original recipe, and it was pretty easy to make.  Except for the streusel, of course.  I might try this again, and maybe I’ll have the hang of streusel the next time around.

I really love Baking: From My Home To Yours, and I’m sad that I have to return it to the library at the end of the week.  I’m not sure what I’ll say about the book, but I should have something posted either here or at my other blog.  I’ll definitely have a link to the review, no matter what I decide to do.  Keep cooking everyone!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

