RSS Feed

Veggie Lo Mein + Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yesterday, I made some dinner and a dessert.  Dessert goes to anyone who can figure out what the dessert is.

First off, I made Veggie Lo Mein, found on page 91 of Veggie Meals by Rachael Ray.

The ingredients are pictured below.

Veggie Lo Mein Ingredients

Any Adaptations?  Yes!  I left out the scallions, red bell pepper, fresh ginger and sesame oil.  I didn’t have any of those ingredients, so I left them out.  I wouldn’t have used the red pepper, because I’m not a fan of peppers.  I used angel hair pasta instead of spaghetti, and crushed garlic instead of minced.  I could have sworn I had spaghetti, but nope.  No such luck.  I added in some broccoli, and kept the peas.  And I used regular soy sauce instead of Tamari.  Even though Tamari is a kind of soy sauce.  So…my version only slightly resembles the original, but it still turned out pretty good.

It was really easy to make, and I’ll definitely make it again.  Hopefully, I’ll have more of the actual ingredients next time.  The thing I love about Rachael Ray is that it’s super easy to change things if you need to.  The finished dish is pictured below.

Veggie Lo Mein

Dessert’s next on the menu, and I made Chocolate Chip Cookies.  It’s in Baking: From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan (Page 68).  The ingredients are below.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ingredients

Any adaptations?  Yes.  I used mini chocolate chips instead of the 12 ounces of bittersweet chocolate Greenspan recommended.  I only used the mini chocolate chips because they were the only ones I had.  I also left out the walnuts or pecans, because nuts don’t belong in chocolate chip cookies.

They were easy to make, because they’re chocolate chip cookies.  Mine turned out a lot darker (and more flat) then I expected, but that’s probably because I didn’t pay too much attention to the form of the cookies when I put the dough on the cookie sheet.  I think I’d make them again (and add them to my ever growing list of chocolate chip cookie recipes).  The cookies are pictured below.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

That’s it for today, and have a great weekend!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

