RSS Feed

Rachael Ray

I love Rachael Ray!  My introduction to Rachael Ray was her Veggie Meals cookbook, and I found myself interested in her other cookbooks. 

Veggie Meals is her only vegetarian cookbook, but a couple of her other cookbooks that I have on my bookshelf have a pretty decent vegetarian section.  And a fair amount of her food is surprisingly easy to adapt, with a few simple substitutions. 

I know she gets some flack for using a lot of boxed and canned stuff, but in the stuff of hers that I’ve made over the last few years, I haven’t come across that all too much.  I think it really depends on what you make, but I’ve found she uses a lot of fresh veggies and herbs, and honestly, it’s not too hard to substitute fresh ingredients in her recipes. 

That’s one thing I really like about her- the fact that her recipes are pretty easy to change if you need to.  Her recipes are so easy to make, and a majority of the ingredients are things you can find at the grocery store.  I love her usage of ingredients too- I know that if I buy some olive oil or garlic (or a few other ingredients) it’ll pop up in a lot of her other recipes, which means that I’m going to get my money’s worth. 

It’s nothing against gourmet chefs or speciality ingredients- and I’m not very familiar with that sort of thing at all.  For me, if I’m going to buy some expensive ingredient or drive 45 minutes to an hour to get to a store that has some special ingredient, I want to make sure it’s something that I’m going to use more than once.  She is pretty efficient…economic…or something with her recipes, which I like. 

Since I have a few of her cookbooks, I’ll probably be posting quite a few of her recipes, and maybe they’ll even inspire me to come up with my own recipes!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

