RSS Feed

Lemon Coconut Bars

Yesterday, I made Lemon Coconut Bars, which I found on My Baking Addiction.  I could never come up with a cute-sy name like that. 

First, we have a picture of the ingredients.  And the lemons?  They’re from the lemon tree in my backyard!  They’re super lemon-y, which is great for lemon bars, but not when I’m making cheesecake or sugar cookies.  I’ll definitely need to reduce the lemon zest for those things in the future.  But since I made lemon bars, you could really taste the lemon, which is always a good thing.  Because otherwise, they wouldn’t be lemon bars.   

The Ingredients

You make the crust part by mixing the flour, powdered sugar and butter, and then press it into the pan.  I’ve made lemon bars before and I’ve also made cheesecake squares, and the pressing the crust in the pan thing was a little weird for me.  This was actually the second time I tried it, and this attempt was successful.  I realized that if I sprinkle it all over then pan and then press it, it comes out a lot better than if I do it a little at a time. 

The Crust

And we have the lemon bar itself below.  The coconut wasn’t too visible in the pan, but when you cut it, it was there!  Like magic!  And they were delicious if I do say so myself.  I love the picture below, and it’s my favorite of the 3 that I took.     

Lemon Coconut Bars

 I didn’t change anything from the original recipe, but it makes me wonder what else I could do with a lemon bar. I’d never think to put lemon and coconut together, and while I could taste it a little, there was a definite texture there.  I’m making this again, and it was really good!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

