RSS Feed

Power Outages and Food

We had this massive power outage in San Diego yesterday, and it was interesting.  My general thoughts are posted over at my other blog

It’s interesting how much I use electricity in relation to food.  I use the microwave to heat stuff up, and there’s the stove and the oven…and stuff needs to be refridgerated.  It’s pretty hard to cook with no power, and everything could have thawed out, especially since it was, like, 90 degrees outside. 

Unfortunately, we didn’t have a lot of snacks or anything, but I wasn’t all that worried, since we were without power for about 9 hours or so.  But we don’t really have a lot of canned stuff, or food that doesn’t need to be cooked, so if we had to wait a few days, we might have had a problem. 

It does make you realize that you should be prepared for this type of thing, and I was glad that I decided against baking cookies.  But some cookies would have been a really good snack…

Anyway, I’m sure I’ll have some more thoughts on this.  I wanted to get something posted, and while this probably isn’t too coherent, I hope it sort of makes sense.  I’m off to bed now, so have a great day!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

