RSS Feed

Menu Planning

I don’t do a whole lot of menu-planning.  I do have a list of sorts, when I go to the grocery store, and it’s usually whatever I feel like making at the moment.  I kind of menu plan, but not really. 

I’ve been flipping through a couple of my cookbooks, and I started writing down some of the recipes, and working on a shopping list.  I think I’m good for this month, and maybe even next month.  My next project is to come up with a menu for November.  What is November, you ask?  National Novel Writing Month, where you write a 50,000 word novel in one month.  Part of my cooking 2 things a month goal was to find foods I like so that I have plenty of things to make when I’m doing NaNo.  Every year I tell myself that I’m going to cook in advance, but I never do.  But this year, I’m going to try it, and also leave a couple things for November. 

I have more than enough time to cook, but I’d like to be able to not really worry about cooking during NaNo.  I also need something to distract me from writing, so I’ll make sure to have a couple things to make during November. 

It is weird planning a menu for the next few months, since I don’t usually do it that far in advance, but it’s also not very specific.  I don’t know which week I’ll be making things, I just know what things I’m making.  I’m not a big fan of planning.  In fact, I’m more of a “pantser.”  I guess I’m a vague planner, in that I have a general idea of what I’m doing, but I don’t get super specific or anything.

Still, I think this menu planning will be good, so I’m not flipping through a cookbook right before I go to the grocery store.  Maybe not 3 months in advance, but I think a month ahead of time is good time frame.

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

2 responses »

  1. nice article 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

