RSS Feed

Tortilla Torte

Yesterday, I made the Tortilla Torte from the Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook…page 339. 

Tortilla Torte Ingredients

It was really easy to make, amd I had to make a few changes.  First, the grocery store didn’t have any taco-seasoned ground soy meat, so I used the rest of the taco seasoning in the picture to do a semi-homade taco-seasoned ground meat.  I don’t think the beans were a cup and a half, but whatever.  And I didn’t have a deep 10-inch round cake pan, so I used 2 round cake pans instead.  It still turned out okay.

Tortilla Torte

 It didn’t take very long to make, and you just layer everything.  I liked it, and I am definitely making this again.  It seems like it might freeze well, but with the tortillas, I’m not completely sure.  Maybe I could make the salsa, soy meat, and bean mixture and freeze it.  It was a little more soupy that I expected, which might be because it didn’t thicken quite right when I was adding the taco seasoning.  But the salsa also might have played a role.  But after baking it, it turned out okay.

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

