RSS Feed

My November Menu

So, I have settled on a menu for November!  I’m so proud of myself, and I’m excited about it!

I came across this blog while looking for recipes for slow-cooked lentils.  The blogger had this project of using her slow-cooker everyday for a year.  And a few days ago, it hit me.  Use the crock-pot in November!  Why did I not think of this before?  As opposed to making stuff next month and then freezing it, I can let various dishes simmer in the Crock-Pot all day.  Either way, I’m going to have to cook stuff, and right now, I’m all in favor of the crock-pot.

As much as I love the Crock-Pot, it’s something I don’t use as often as I’d like.  In fact, it’s something I barely use- like a few times year.  I’m determined to use it more, and hopefully, I’ll actually use it a lot more over the coming months.  It doesn’t get too cold here in San Diego, but every once in a while, it does, and it would be nice to have some soup simmering in the crock-pot on the rare rainy day we get.

So far, I just have a couple soup recipes and several tofu recipes bookmarked.  And a couple recipes for lentils.  This should be plenty of food for November but I’ll definitely need to figure out what I need to bake for November.  Maybe I’ll go with cinnamon rolls!  Or scones or muffins…or I could go with cookies and brownies.  Something that’s easy to eat while I’m writing.  Something non-greasy and something I can eat with one hand.  I should pick up some Halloween candy too, and some other snacks.  Pretzels maybe?  Or popcorn?  I don’t know, I’ll have to take some time to figure this out.

I did find some recipes for some drinks that can be made in the slow-cooker, so maybe I’ll give those a try too.  At the rate I’m going, maybe another slow-cooker would be a good investment…one for entrees, and another for side dishes or drinks or something.  Maybe getting several more would be a good idea, but there is problem of finding places to store them.  And I barely use the one I have, what am I going to do with 2 or 3?

I have my menu set, I just need to figure out snacks and dessert.  It shouldn’t be that hard, I’ll just have to go looking around for some ideas.

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

