RSS Feed

Slow Cooked Rice And Beans

I wasn’t sure what to make but I settled on rice and beans since I have half a bag of dried black beans that I wanted to get rid of.  I found the recipe over at A Year Of Slow Cooking, where I found a lot of the recipes I’m going to make next month. 

The Ingredients

Ingredients and Adaptations: I used regular salt instead of table salt, and kidney beans in place of the pinto beans as I had regular salt and kidney beans.  At the least minute, I decided to use half a can of crushed tomatoes, so it’s not in the picture.  The black beans also are not in the picture since I had to soak them overnight.   

Rice And Beans

Thoughts: This is a really good recipe if you want to get rid of stuff.  It was really easy to make, since I just added everything to the crock-pot and let it cook for 6 hours.  It’s something that could easily be a burrito or taco filling, but it would also be fine on its own.  I would definitely make it again.

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

