RSS Feed

Pumpkin Cranberry Bars

I made Pumpkin Cranberry Bars yesterday, and I found it at the Joy Of Baking.  It’s one of my favorite places to go when I’m in need of dessert.  The one thing I love is how well everything is categorized.

Flour, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Cinnamon, Ginger, Allspice, Salt, Butter, Sugar, 1 Egg, Vanilla Extract and Pumpkin

 Recipe Rundown: I left out the cranberries and pecans, but left everything else as is. 

It was relatively easy to make, but the hard part was letting everything cool down before cutting it into bars.  Since I have most of the can left, I might make some again and freeze them until Thanksgiving.  Or whenver I decide to eat them.

Pumpkin Bars

For me, they were just okay, but I’m not the biggest fan of pumpkin.  Even without the cranberries and pecans, it came out like it was supposed to!  I suppose they’re really more pumpkin bars as opposed to pumpkin cranberry bars since I didn’t use any cranberries…

Oh, remember those lemon sugar cookies I made?  I tried them with orange juice, extract and zest and it turned out better than I thought.  They weren’t super-orangey, but there was a hint of it.  I don’t know if it was the particular oranges I picked from the tree or if oranges just don’t work well with this recipe, but they did turn out okay.  I wasn’t a big fan of the orange flavor, so I think I’ll be sticking with lemon.  This time, they even looked like the pictures on the original blog post.  I think it’s because this time, I folded in the flour mixture a little longer then the last time, and it was more like dough instead of a gloopy mess.

I have some more baking to do, so I’m off!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

2 responses »

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    These look so delicious! I would have definitly left in the cranberries and nuts, but thats just me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

