RSS Feed

More Holiday Talk

There’s no recipe for the blog today, but today I am getting a head start on Thanksgiving baking.

My plan was to make mashed potatoes, rolls, pumpkin pie, and apple pie for Thanksgiving. 

But my grandma decided to go with ordering a turkey, mashed potatoes, and pretty much the whole meal from somewhere, so I don’t really need to make anything.

I’m making rolls anyway, and they’ll go into the freezer.  I still need to make some mashed potatoes, so I’ll make those on thanksgiving day in the crockpot.  I also need another pie, so I’m making apple pie.  I’ll probably make the crust over the weekend, and refridgerate until Wednesay, when I’ll make the actual pie.  But I do have a couple boxes of refriderageted pie crusts that you roll out and bake like a normal pie crust, so that’s my back-up.  Plus, I have all the ingredients for pumpkin pie, so if the apple pie doesn’t work out, I can always make pumpkin pie!

Nervousness about making pie crust aside, I’m looking foward to making it, and I feel pretty excited about it too.

I’m also learning how to crochet, and I’m comfortable enough with the stitches to make stuff.  So while potholders and placemats and dishcloths aren’t actually food, they are food-related.  If I ever take some pictures of the coasters that are starting to show up all over the house, I’ll put those up.  And any kitchen-related craft projects that I crochet.   

I’ll be posting pictures of everything I make, and I may make a few other things too.  

Have a great weekend!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

