RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love chocolate chip cookies.  I’m not a big fan of dessert, but I am known to eat some every once in a while.  And chocolate chip cookies are probably my favorite. 

There’s no one recipe I like to use, but I find myself going back to King Arthur Flour and Joy of Baking.  I made one of the recipes from King Arthur Flour today, mostly because I’ve been on their website a lot.

The Ingredients: Baking Soda, Shortening, Brown Sugar, Flour, Vanilla Extract, Almond Extract, Egg, Butter, Vinegar, Sugar, and Salt

The almond extract is optional, but since I have a bottle that I don’t use, I figured I’d add some in.  You can’t even taste it once the cookies have baked.  And I know the vinegar is really odd- I would certainly never think of putting it in cookies, but thankfully, you can’t taste that either once the cookies have been baked. 

From The First Batch Of Cookies

This is the first batch of cookies.  The first batch of any cookies always seems to come out smaller than normal.  I think it’s mostly because everyone seems to use a cookie scoop, which I don’t have and can’t justify buying.  A spoon works just fine, but the first batch almost always seems to be smaller than the rest of them.  In essence, a test batch that I usually end up eating! 

From The 2nd Or 3rd Batch

And this is the from the 2nd or 3rd batch- there is a definite contrast to the cookies above, but either way, they’re still good! 

I did have to stick them in the fridge for a couple minutes, because it was slightly stickier than I remembered.  But that gave me enough time to get the cookie sheets ready, and thank goodness for parchment paper!  I’m messy enough as it is, I don’t need to worry about cleaning up cookie sheets.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a picture of apple pie and and some mashed potato talk.

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

