RSS Feed

Thoughts On The Harry Potter Cookbook

Now that Thanksgiving is over, my thoughts have turned to Christmas.  I don’t have any recipes or pictures to share, and I don’t think I’ll be making anything for the rest of the month, because the fridge is full of leftover!  I’ll be eating mashed potatoes and rolls for a while, and I don’t think I can fit anything else in the fridge or the freezer. 

I don’t think I’ll be making anything else from the Harry Potter cookbook.  It makes me a little sad, but it’s okay.  I’ll have to check it out another time, like aftter the holidays are over, and there are no more leftovers. 

My thoughts on the Harry Potter Cookbook?  It’s okay.  I don’t know how good the recipes are, since I only made the sugar cookies, but a lot of things seemed good.  There were no pictures, which is always unfortunate for a cookbook.  The organization could be a little bit better, and some of the recipes didn’t appear to be tested by the author.  There’s one involving animal blood, and another that calls for various hearts and lungs of different animals.  Anything that says proceed with caution raises a red flag, and it makes me wonder why it’s even included.  Most of the recipes didn’t seem overly complicated but some of the ingredients definitely are not at your local grocery store.   

Reviews on the cookbook seemed to be pretty divided- people seem to love it or hate it.  I don’t know how authentically British the recipes are, but there are a lot of people who complained about the fact that the recipes weren’t magical enough.  You know, it was regular British food and not what wizards eat.  I don’t get that complaint at all, because the wizards eat too, and just because the magical world is completely hidden from muggles doesn’t mean they automatically eat different food.    

If I had to give it a rating- which I’m hesitant to do, since I only made one thing- it would get 2 stars out of 5. 

I think one of my next baking projects is bread!  I was intimidated by baking bread, but after making rolls, I feel like it’s completely do-able.  A year ago, I never would have felt comfortable baking bread, but now it doesn’t seem so scary!

That’s it for today, so I’ll be back on Monday!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

