RSS Feed

Orange Brownies

There are certain things that go well with chocolate.  Peanut butter for one.  Sea salt and chocolate is a particularly good combination.  I’ve heard chili peppers with chocolate is good.  I think I’m going to have to test that out one time.  Orange and chocolate seem like a particularly good combination.

So good that I had to try it this week.  All I did was add some orange extract and some orange zest to the brownie batter.  I’m sure I’m not the first person to come up with this idea, but I wanted to try my own version.

I was scared it wouldn’t turn out right, because I’ve never truly adapted something for baking before.  With cooking, yes.  But with baking?  Not really.  Maybe the occasional whatever chocolate or peanut butter chips I had on had, or leaving things out, like nuts.  But to add something completely new with no idea of how much I should add in?  Utterly terrifying.  But it worked out a lot better than I expected and I’m glad I decided to try out one of my inspirations!

Orange Brownies:

Adapted from the Joy of Baking and makes about 16 brownies.

Ingredients:

  • 5 ounces of bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder (dutch process or unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 1  cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons orange extract
  • zest of 1 small orange
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup  all-purpose flour
  •   1/4 teaspoon salt

Recipe:

  1. Preheat oven to 35o degrees.
  2. Butter or spray (with a non-stick cooking spray like Pam) the bottom of an 8 by 8 inch pan.  Line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper or wax paper.
  3. Melt the chocolate and butter in a double broiler.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in the sugar and cocoa powder.
  5. Whisk in the vanilla extract and the orange zest and orange extract.
  6. Whisk in the eggs, one at a time and beating well after each egg.
  7. Stir in the flour and salt.
  8. Pour into the pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.  It’s done when a toothpick is inserted in the middle of the pan and comes out when with a little batter and a few crumbs on it.
  9. Cool on a wire rack, serve, and enjoy!
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

