RSS Feed

Peppermint Brownies

I love all thing peppermint.  I also like brownies.  Peppermint and chocolate are two of my favorite things and after my successful attempt at making orange brownies, I thought I’d try another experiment, but with peppermint extract instead of the orange zest and extract.

A Trio Of Minty Goodness

There’s nothing against all the brownie recipes out there with candy canes in them or york peppermint patties in them either.

Poor Brownie, All By It's Lonesome

But I wanted something simple, with just extract, and that seems to be hard to find.  Or maybe I just wasn’t looking hard enough, because I’m pretty sure that’s out there.

Peppermint Brownies

Adapted from the Joy of Baking.  Makes about 16 brownies.

Ingredients:

  • 5 ounces semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1-2 teaspoons pure peppermint extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Recipe:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Butter or spray (with a non-stick spray like pam) the bottom of an 8 by 8 inch pan.  Line the bottom with parchment or wax paper.
  3. Melt the chocolate and butter in a double broiler.
  4. Remove from heat and add sugar and cocoa powder.
  5. Whisk in vanilla and peppermint extract.
  6. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  7. Stir in flour and salt.
  8. Pour into pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack, cut, and serve.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

