RSS Feed

Kitchen Experiment: Lemon Sugar Hand Scrub

I decided not to make pumpkin cheesecake bars for Christmas, but I will be making them…I’m not sure when, but I will be making them.

I did, however, make a Lemon Sugar Hand Scrub.  It’s for your hands, and I just happened to have all the ingredients on hand.  You mix lemon juice, sugar, and olive oil together and all of a sudden, you have a hand scrub!

I liked the scrub itself just fine and my hands were soft afterwards.  But I also had some issues with it.  Like the fact that it didn’t smell lemon-y enough.  Seriously, I couldn’t smell any lemon.  I don’t mind the smell of olive oil at all, but I kept thinking that I needed some bread to go along with it.  Perhaps something that doesn’t have such a strong scent, or adding some lemon zest or lemon extract will help it smell slightly more lemon-y.   

Then there’s the fact that it’s far too oily.  It did separate a little, and I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t mix it well enough or because there was too much oil.  At least you wash it right off…

I think this is a good start to some other sugar scrubs, I just need some mason jars!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

