RSS Feed

Beef Stew

I wanted to cook something yesterday.  But I was feeling slightly lazy.  I wanted to cook without actually cooking. 

So I got out the crock-pot and made beef stew.  The nice thing about beef stew is that you can change it up depending on what you have on hand.  It really is a good way to clean out the pantry and the fridge. 

It was a long 8 hours, let me tell you.  Especially the last few, when you could smell the stew throughout the house.  It was strongest in the kitchen, of course, and it was hard waiting until it was done.  But the wait was worth it, and there’s something comforting about a bowl of soup.  Interestingly enough, it was rather warm today, but nothing was going to stop me from a bowl (or two) of beef stew. 

Beef Stew

Adapted From A Year Of Slow Cooking

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 pounds of beef stew meat (or comparable vegetarian “beef-” I used Gardein’s beefless tips)
  • 2 cups baby carrots
  • 4 small-ish red potatoes
  • 1 quart vegetable or beef broth
  • 1/4 cup red wine or extra broth
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon seasoning blend or herbs of your choice (I used tarragon and parsley)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce (optional)

Recipe:

  1. Wash and chop vegetables, and put into crock-pot.
  2. Put flour into a bowl or plastic ziploc bag and coat beef well. 
  3. Add beef to the crock-pot and toss the remaining flour.
  4. Add seasoning or herbs and worcestershire sauce (if using).
  5. Add wine and broth and cook on low for 8 to 12 hours. 
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

