RSS Feed

Bean and Rice Soup

I was flipping through one of my Rachael Ray cookbooks and decided I wanted to make the Black Bean And Rice Stoup…so I did.

It’s slightly different from the recipe in the book, mainly because I thought I had some stuff and didn’t.  But that’s okay, I made do with what I had.  Rice and beans are comfort food for me, and it’s so simple.  I wonder if we have any tortillas, because they would make a good burrito filling!

I liked it, but it was more like rice and beans in broth than a soup.  It still tasted good, but I can see the rice absorbing the broth.

Black Bean And Rice Soup

Adapted from Rachael Ray’s Book Of 10; serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 garlic gloves, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 1 15 ounce can black beans
  • 1 15 ounce can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 tablespoon coriander
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  •  1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (optional)
  • 1-2 teaspoons hot sauce
  • 1 8 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 quart vegetable stock
  • 1 cup white rice

Recipe:

  1. Heat a medium-sized soup pot over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the olive oil, bay leaf and garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes.
  3. Add the corn, kidney beans, and the black beans.
  4. Season the beans and corn with the spices, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce, if using.
  5. Stir in the tomato sauce and stock.
  6. Raise the heat, cover the pot and bring soup to a boil.
  7. Add the rice and cook over a simmer for about 16-17 minutes.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

