RSS Feed

Fun With Cookbooks

So, I didn’t cook over the weekend, but I did wnt to do an update on some of the cookbooks I’ve looked through over the last few weeks.

Let’s see…Chocolate And Zucchini!  The summary on goodreads made it seem like it would be similar to The Sweet Life In Paris by David Lebovitz, with a chapter on what it’s like living in Paris with a couple recipes in each chapter.  It turned out to be an actual cookbook, with a short paragraph about…something relating to the recipe.  I think.  I honestly can’t remember.  I ended up setting it aside and didn’t care enough to finish looking through it.

I also read Alone In The Kitchen With An Eggplant.  It was actually a partial read, since I couldn’t finish it.  It seemed like they were complaining about how they had to eat alone, and that got annoying after the first few.  It seemed like eating alone was a bad thing, something to be feared, instead of something they didn’t want to confront or explore.  They were definitely repetitive and self-pitying, and I just couldn’t finish it.

As for The Art Of Eating, I flipped through it, and that was it.  I felt so overwhelmed with the large stack of books I had at the time that I couldn’t bring myself to care about looking through it.  Maybe I’ll have to request it some other time.

I have a few cookbooks from Nigella Lawson that I checked out from the library.  I’ve looked at a couple of them, and while her desserts looked good, her other recipes aren’t very vegetarian-friendly.  Hopefully the third one will have something, otherwise it’s back to the library they go.

When I saw Baking: From My Home To Yours on the bookshelf, I knew I had to check it out again!  There were so many recipes I didn’t get around to last time, and this is such a good chance to make some more!

That’s it for today, and I’ll be back on Friday with a recipe of some sort!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

