RSS Feed

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

I was in the mood for some chocolate chip cookies.  It’s nothing unusual for me because I love chocolate chip cookies.  I was looking at some of the variations that Greenspan suggested for chocolate chip cookies and was intrigued by a coconut variation.  I’d never think of throwing in coconut, but when I saw it, I knew I had to try it!

I only had half of the amount suggested, because it was leftover from something else I made with coconut.  There was a hint of coconut, and I imagine the coconut flavor would be a lot stronger if you used more.  They were really good, despite not having enough coconut in it.

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  •  2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup to 1 1/2 cups shredded coconut (sweetened or not)

Recipe:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk flour, salt, and baking soda.
  3. Beat butter on medium speed until smooth.
  4. Add sugars and beat until well-blended.
  5. Beat in vanilla extract.
  6. Add eggs one at a time, beating for about 1 minute.
  7. Reduce the speed of the mixer to low and add in flour in 3 portions.  Mix until each portion is incorporated.
  8. By hand, or on low speed, mix in chocolate chips and coconut.
  9. Spoon by rounded tablespoons onto the baking sheets.  Leave about 2 inches between each cookie.
  10. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.
  11. Cool on cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack or parchment paper.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

