RSS Feed

Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

I’ve been wanting to make Split Pea Soup for a while.  And not wanting any ham in it, I turned to my good friend google.  I don’t know why I was surprised to see that 101 Cookbooks as one of the first hits.  But I knew it would be good, so I pretty much ignored everything.

But I wanted crockpot split pea soup.  So I went to A Year Of Slow Cooking, since I was pretty sure that there would be a split pea soup recipe there.  The only problem was that I liked both recipes.  So I decided to merge the two, and the result is below!

Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

Adapted from 101 Cookbooks and A Year Of Slow Cooking

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 small carrots, chopped
  • 1 16-oz package of green split peas
  • 1 teaspoon salt (sea salt is what I used, but use whatever you have on hand)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 cups of  vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • juice of 1/2 lemon to 1 lemon
  • a few pinches smoked paprika (optional)
  • olive oil (optional)
Directions:
  1. Add peas, vegetables, broth and water to crock-pot.  Then add the salt and pepper.
  2. Cover and cook on high for 5-6 hours or low for 8-10 hours.
  3. If desired, set half of the soup aside, and blend.  Add blended soup back to crock-pot.
  4. Add lemon juice, and salt to taste.  If soup needs to be thinned out, add a little water or stock at a time, until it reaches the right consistency.
  5. Serve each bowl with a little paprika and olive oil on top.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

