RSS Feed

Everything Lo Mein

I’m not sure if you can call this everything lo mein, because there’s really not a lot in it.  But calling it everything lo mein makes sound like there’s a lot to it.  I didn’t think to check to see if I needed any vegetables, so I went with broccoli and corn.  But use whatever you have, and feel free to add chicken or pork or even tofu.  That’s the thing I like about Chinese food- it’s so easy to add in what you want.

Vegetable oil is preferable, but I used olive oil because that was all I had.  I really wish I had remembered to pick some up when I was at the store a few days ago.  But it still turned out okay, and I didn’t notice any difference, but since the vegetables are stir-fried, olive oil really isn’t the best choice.  And I couldn’t figure out why it was so spicy, but I figured that my serving was because I was eating from the bottom of the skillet.  But I added way more hot sauce than I needed to- 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons!  But I don’t mind spicy food, so it all worked out.

Everything Lo Mein

Adapted from Rachael Ray’s Book Of 10

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce
  • 1 pound spaghetti
  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil or vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 bag frozen broccoli
  • 1/4 bag frozen corn
  • 1 bunch green onions, finely chopped
  • 3 chicken breasts, cut into thin strips and/or 3 pork chops, cut into thin strips (optional)
  • 2 teaspoons coriander (optional)

Recipe:

  1. Mix hoisin sauce, tamari, hot sauce and 3 tablespoons water in a small bowl and reserve.
  2. Cook pasta according to directions.
  3. While pasta cooks, heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a large skillet over high heat.  Add eggs and scramble to light golden brown.  Remove to a plate and set aside.
  4. Heat the remaining 3 tablespoons of oil.  Stir-fry corn, broccoli, onions and garlic.  (If using chicken and/or pork, season with salt, pepper, and coriander, and then stir fry for 4 minutes.  Push to the side, and cook vegetables as stated).
  5. Add the drained pasta and eggs to the skillet, pour the reserved sauce over the lo mein and toss to combine.  Turn off the heat and let the pasta absorb all the liquid.
  6. Sprinkle green onions on top and serve.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

