RSS Feed

Smoky Corn Chowder

I was in the mood for soup, and I decided that I want to make corn chowder.  I guess you could say it’s smoky, if you add the pepper.

You could say that I wimped out when I opened the container- I could smell the heat, if that makes any sense.  So instead of using the pepper, I added some of the sauce they were in.  You can use either the pepper or the sauce (or both) but if you don’t any spiciness, just leave it out completely.

The texture of it kind of reminded of polenta, and I thought that the crushed tortilla chips made it a lot more interesting.  I think cornbread would go really well with it, so I may have to make some today.  I’ll definitely be making this again.

Smoky Corn Chowder

Adapted from Rachael Ray’s Book Of 10

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup crushed tortilla chips
  • 1 quart vegetable stock
  • 20 ounces of corn (about 2 1/2 cups)
  • juice of 1-2 limes (optional)
  • 1 chipotle chile in adobo (optional, but you can use the pepper and/or sauce)

Recipe:

  1. Preheat the olive oil in a medium or large pot over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the onions, garlic, chipotle (if using), coriander, cumin, salt and pepper.  Cook for 3 minutes, or until the onions are slightly tender.
  3. While the onions are cooking, grind the tortilla chips in a food processor, or smash in a plastic bag with a rolling pin.
  4. Add the chips to the onions, stir to combine and than add the vegetable stock.  Bring up to a bubble, and simmer for 8 to 10 minutes.
  5. Add the frozen corn and lime juice (if using) and cook for 5 minutes.
  6. If the soup becomes too thick, add a little more stock.  If it’s too thin, cook for a few more minutes.  Add a little of the adobo sauce to add a little more smokiness or if not using the pepper.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

