RSS Feed

Plain Ole Risotto

I decided I needed to make risotto again.  I have no clue why I don’t make it more often, but I really like it!

I hope you’re good at stirring, because you do a lot of it with risotto.  It’s not polenta-level stirring, but it’s the only other thing I can think of that requires standing and stirring.  If you’re not good at stirring, or you don’t like stirring frequently, don’t let that deter you, because it’s worth it!  Plus, it’s not fun when it sticks to the bottom of the pan when you don’t stir it enough.

I suppose I’m making a good for not making it, but it’s good.  I wasn’t in the mood for onions, so I left them out.  But I added garlic.  And it’s usually a good idea to make sure that you have enough broth before you make it.  If I had, I wouldn’t have used vegetable stock, chicken stock, and water.  It still came out fine, and I didn’t notice any difference.

Risotto

Adapted from Rachael Ray’s Veggie Meals

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups vegetable or chicken stock
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped or crushed
  • 2 cups arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine or more stock
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 small onion, chopped (optional)

Directions:

  1. Place stock and water in a medium sauce pan and heat.
  2. In a deep sauce pan, melt butter into olive oil.
  3. Add onion (if using) and garlic, and saute for about 3 minutes.
  4. Add rice and saute for 2 minutes.
  5. Add wine or stock and cook for 2 minutes, until it has evaporated.
  6. Add 1 cup of broth, and let it evaporate.
  7. Keep adding broth, 1/2 cup to 1 cup at a time, stirring frequently.
  8. Taste rice after 15 to 17 minutes, and only add as much of the broth that is needed to cook the rice until al dente.
  9. Remove from heat, stir in cheese, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

