RSS Feed

Cookbook Time!

I have a few cookbooks that I checked out from the library, and I thought I’d talk about them today!

I only did a little baking this week, and I didn’t cook anything since I’m still eating leftovers.  I made coffee-flavored muffins from the Dorie Greenspan baking one and chocolate chip cookies from King Arthur Flour.

Seriously, I love Baking: From My Home To Yours.  I think this is the 3rd or 4th time I’ve checked it out now, and I really do need to get my own copy someday.  I certainly get the popularity of it, and it always seems like 3 weeks is never enough to look through it.  A lot of her cookies, muffins, and brownies seem to have a lot of add-ins, which is okay, I guess.  But at the same time, slightly annoying.  How many things do you need to add to your brownie?  But then again, you can leave it out, I suppose.

I also checked out Make It Fast, Cook It Slow, which I wanted to check out because I love her blog so much.  Basically, it’s the same recipes that were a part of her challenge to use her crock-pot everday for a year.  Would I buy a copy of it?  Probably not, because I can get the recipes at her blog for frees.  AS much as I want to support the book, I just can’t bring myself to buy it.  I do like that there are gluten-free options, and that she includes what her husband and kids thought of the recipe.

I’ve only flipped through Purple Citrus and Sweet Perfume, which focuses on Mediterranean food.  It seems like there’s no way I can adapt a lot of the recipes, but I think I need to actually read it to see for myself.

And I have yet to look through The Vuluptuous Vegan but at least I know everything is vegetarian.  I’m not vegan, but I figured I’d at least look at it and see if anything catches my eye.

That’s it for today, so have a great weekend!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

