RSS Feed

Taco Soup

It’s been raining pretty much all weekend, so it seemed like a good time to make more soup!  I really do love soup, because it’s so easy to make.  Plus, sometimes, it’s nice to have a bowl of soup.

Unfortunately, all you can see is the broth and the cheese, which is on top of the sour cream.  Well, in the picture above, you can kind of see something on the bottom, which is the beef.  You can see it a little better in the picture below.  I sadly didn’t have any tomatoes, but I would imagine tomatoes would make it even more awesome than it already is.

I love tacos, and I’ve made one or two other versions of taco soup before, but I really like this recipe, so I’ll probably stick with this recipe.  Unless I come across another recipe for taco soup, in which case, I’ll probably have to try out it.  So enjoy the recipe!

Taco Soup:

Adapted from Rachael Ray’s Book Of 10

Ingredients: 

  • 2 tablespoons Extra-Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 to 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef (or vegetarian alternative)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon  each of ground cumin, ground coriander and chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon oregano
  • 3 garlic gloves, chopped
  • 1 quart vegetable or chicken stock
  • 1 15-ounce can stewed tomatoes (optional)
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped (optional)

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in a soup pot.
  2. Add the ground beef, and brown it, breaking it up with a wooden spoon.
  3. Season with garlic, onions (if using), salt, pepper and spices.
  4. Stir to combine and cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Add the tomatoes (if using) and stock.  Bring to a boil.
  6. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
  7. Ladle into bowls, and garnish with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of grated cheddar cheese.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

