RSS Feed

Vegetable Clay Pot Rice

I made a rice bowl over the weekend.  I was flipping through Into The Vietnamese Kitchen, when this recipe caught my eye.  I decided I wanted to make this recipe…after all, I love rice and vegetables.

Okay, so I might have left the chicken out…but also used fish sauce.  Partly because I had fish sauce and no oyster sauce.  But I also know of no vegetarian-friendly substitute for fish sauce.  Other than soy sauce, and randomly adding extra soy sauce didn’t seem like a good idea.  But I really wanted to try it, and it’s something I happened to have all of the ingredients for.

Don’t let the recipe intimidate you!  I know I was, and it’s not as complicated as it looks.  You’re pretty much standing there stirring things.  I think I’ll be showing several recipes from this cookbook, because there are a lot I want to try.  If I like them enough, I may have to get my own copy…

Vegetable Clay Pot Rice

Adapted from Into The Vietnamese Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 5 tablespoons canola (or other neutral oil)
  • 2/3 cup chopped carrots (chop into pea-sized pieces)
  • 1/2 cup brocoli, thawed
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 2 cups long-grain rice
  • 2 2/3 cups chicken stock

Directions:

  1. Stir salt, pepper, sugar, soy sauce and fish sauce in a bowl.
  2. In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of oil over medium heat.  Add the brocoli and saute for 1 minute.  Add the soy sauce mixture.  Add the carrots and saute for 6 minutes.  Remove from heat, stir in the peas, and set the pan aside.
  3. Rinse the rice and drain for 10 munutes in a sieve positioned over a bowl.  While rice is draining, bring the stock to a near simmer in a small saucepan and cover to keep it hot.
  4. In a heavy-bottomed pot, heat the remaining oil (3 tablespoons) over medium-high heat.  Shake the sieve holiding the rice to expel any hidden water, and add to the pot.
  5. Stir constantly with a large spoon for around 3 minutes.  Add the stock, stir, lower the heat to medium, and cover so that it can simmer.
  6. Over the next 5 minutes, allow the rice to absorb the stock and cook evenly.  Periodically remove the lid, and give the rice a quick stir.  Replace the lid.
  7. Uncover and add the vegetables and juices from the skillet.  Distribute over the rice evenly.  Replace the lid and cook for 10 more minutes.
  8. Uncover and stir the contents.  Scrape the bottom to combine all of the ingredients.  Replace the lid, remove from heat, and let thee rice sit for 10 minutes.
  9. Fluff the rice with a fork and serve.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

