RSS Feed

Panfried Rice Noodles

I made Panfried Rice Noodles this week!  They turned out okay…definitely not as good as I was hoping.  But okay is good, right?

I wasn’t sure if I had the right kind of noodles.  I think I did, but I’m not sure, because there was no picture to reference to.  I suppose I should have googled it or something.  But it’s too late now, I suppose.  Next time I’m not sure about an ingredient, I really need to do this.  Oh, and I didn’t fry the noodles correctly.  I just started frying the noodles, and totally didn’t see the part about the water until I was typing up the recipe.  Oops!

I ended up tossing the vegetables and the noodles together, because the noodles were a bit of a mess at the end.  But they still tasted okay.  It’s not as flavorful as I was expecting, but I think tossing the noodles with the vegetables and sauce made it more interesting than it would have been otherwise.  Hopefully I’ll do some baking this weekend, so I should have some pictures on Monday!  Enjoy the recipe!

Panfried Rice Noodles

Adapted from Into The Vietnamese Kitchen

Ingredients:

For Noodles:

  • 1/3 pound wide dried flat rice noodles
  • salt
  • 6 tablespoons canola or other neutral oil
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1 small carrot
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch dissolved in 1 1/2 tablespoons water

For Flavoring Sauce:

  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 2 teaspoons fish sauce
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 3/4 cup warm water

Directions:

  1. Cook the rice noodles in a large pot of boiling water for 3 or 4 minutes.  Drain, rinse with cold water and drain again.
  2.  Transfer noodles to a large plate or baking dish and toss with 1.2 teaspoon of salt and 1 1/2 teaspoons of oil.  Spread out noodles to dry and cool.
  3. Combine sugar, oyster sauce, fish sauce, soy sauce and waterand stir to dissolve sugar.  Set aside.
  4. Bring a saucepan to a rolling boil, and add the peas and carrot.  Cook for 2 minutes, or until crisp.  Drain the veggies, rinse with cold water and drain.  Set aside.
  5. To panfry the noodles, heat 1 1/2 tablespoons of the oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add the noodles and spread out into a flat pancake.  Add the water, cover, and cook for 1 or 2 minutes.
  6. Uncover, panfry the noodles for 2 or 3 minutes, or until slightly crispy and barely golden.  Turn the noodles over, add 1 1/2 tablespoons oil, and fry for 3 to 4 minutes.  Slide the finished noodles onto a large serving plate.  Cut into 6 to 8 wedges.
  7. In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium high heat.  Add the peas and carrot to the pan, and fry for about 1 minute.  Stir the flavoring sauce, add to the pan, and let it bubble.
  8. Stir cornstarch mixture, add to the pan, and stir for 30 seconds.  Or until the sauce is smooth and thick.  Pour over noodles, and sprinkle with pepper.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

