RSS Feed

Comfort Food

Who doesn’t love comfort food?  It’s always nice to have something that’s warm and comforting, in food form.

Mexican food, especially burritos, is one of my comfort foods.  But if I had to pick my all-time, go-to comfort foods, I think it would be soup.  It’s not like I live in a place where it gets cold.

But soup…it always makes me feel better, and even when it’s 80 degrees in mid-July, you will find me eating a bowl of soup.  I don’t have a particular favorite- any kind will do.  But…there is something especially comforting about beef stew.  Potatoes, carrots, and beef- yummy!  Well, in my case, those Gardein “beef” tips, which do the job really well.  One reason why I love soup- the crock-pot.  Tomato soup is really good too.  I have to admit that I love the boxed soups from Trader Joe’s.  I know, it’s probably shocking that I actually like something from a box, instead of making it from scratch.  But there’s something about how fast, easy and convenient it is.

My love of the crock-pot isn’t exactly a secret, and there’s something about leaving something to cook in it all day without worrying about the house burning down or anything.  It’s great when I’m too lazy or tired to cook.  And the smell of food simmering away when I come home from work…

Sorry, I got distracted for a minute there.  The crock-pot really is a super-easy way for me to make one of my favorite foods ever.

I think one of my other favorite comfort foods, after soup, of course, would be mashed potatoes!  Actually, it goes together really well with beef stew.  But there are so many ways to make mashed potatoes, and they really do have a way of making me feel better.

I think that’s all the thoughts I have on comfort food- at least for now- s0 have a great weekend!

About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

