RSS Feed

Crock-Pot Taco Soup

I love tacos.  And I love soup.  And what better way to eat the two of them than to combine them into one meal?  So, this idea isn’t my own, but I did find the recipe over at my favorite crock-pot blog.  I pretty much stuck to the recipe- with one change- but the cool thing about this recipe is that you can probably change it slightly to fit your favorite taco soup needs.

I solemnly swear that this is soup!

When I was typing up the recipe, I realized black beans would work just as well in this recipe.  And some chopped onions would work well too, I think.  I’m not a fan of diced peppers, but maybe those would be a nice addition too?  It was really good, and the addition of the ranch dressing packet made it really, really good and gave it something special.  Enjoy!

Crcok-Pot Taco Soup

Slightly Adapted From Crock-Pot 365

Ingredients: 

  • 2 15-ounce cans of kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 15-ounce cans of pinto beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 15-ounce cans of corn
  • 1 28-ounce can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • 1 packet of ranch dressing mix
  • 1 pound of ground beef or chicken (optional)
  • Sour cream and shredded cheese (mexican blend or cheddar; sour cream and cheese are optional)

Recipe: 

  1. If using ground beef or chicken, brown meat and drain fat.  Add to the crock-pot.
  2. If you’re not using ground beef/chicken, add beans and contents of corn and tomato cans.  Add the taco packets of seasoning and stir.
  3. Cook on low for 8 to 10 hours or on high for 4 to 5 hours.
  4. Stir well and serve with sour cream and shredded cheese.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

