RSS Feed

Cheesy Beefy Mac

I finally did some cooking over the weekend, mostly because I needed lunch.  But also because I just really need to post a recipe of some sort, since it’s been a while.  I definitely have some plans for cooking over the next week or two, because I have some fresh veggies I need to use up!

I’m not the biggest fan of mac and cheese, but I loved this recipe!  It’s full of cheesy goodness.  And vegetables!  It seems like you can throw in whatever vegetables you have on hand, and after I made it, I wish I added some brocoli.  Maybe next time, because this one is a keeper.  I would never think to add carrots, but they add a nice crunch and I can totally see carrots in a mac and cheese recipe.  Enjoy!

Cheesy Beefy Mac

Adapted from Never Enough Thyme

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of elbow macaroni (the recipe says an 8 ounce package, but half of a 1 pound box works just as well)
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 pound ground beef (or a suitable vegetarian alternative, like Morningstar beef crumbles)
  • 1 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray 9 x 13 inch dish with cooking spray.
  2. Cook macaroni according to package directions.
  3. Spray a large skillet with cooking spray.  Heat it over medium heat, and add onion, carrots, and garlic.
  4. Saute for 4 to 5 minutes, or until vegetables are crisp.  Remove from pan and set aside.
  5. Add ground beef and brown.  Drain fat if neccessary and return to skillet, along with the vegetables.
  6. Add the tomato sauce, 1/2 teaspoon of the salt and the pepper.  Stir well to combine.
  7. Add macaroni to beef and vegetable mixture, stir, and pour into the 9 by 13 inch pan.
  8. Place flour, remaining salt, and milk into small saucepan.  Whisk until well combined.
  9. Cook over medium heat for 2 minutes or until thickened, whisking constantly.  Add 1 cup of cheese and stir until smooth.
  10. Pour the cheese mixture over the macaroni, and stir to combine.
  11. Top evenly with remaining cheese and bake for 20 minutes, or until it is lightly browned.  Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

