RSS Feed

Sausage With Garlic Lentils

I made Sausage With Garlic Lentils today, and they were good!  I am (slowly) becoming a big fan of lentils and barley.  I definitely want to branch out into other grains like quinoa.  Actually, I’m not completely sure if they’re considered grains.  I think they are.

Note To Self: Pay attention to the thing that tells you that you need to change the batteries in your camera. Otherwise, you end up with one picture.

But anyway, eventually I’ll start cooking with quinoa.  But for now, I’m still trying to figure out what to do with lentils and barley.  I definitely prefer barley (at the moment) but I am warming up with lentils.  This recipe seemed so good, and it didn’t disappoint.  Plus, you can’t go wrong with garlic or olive oil.  I love that this particular recipe is for 1 person!  I think I may need to spend some time flipping through that chapter, because it means no leftovers for a week.

Enjoy!

Sausage With Garlic Lentils

Slightly Adapted From Rachael Ray’s Big Orange Book

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 pound lentils
  • 1/4 cups olive oil, divided (3 tablespoons, 1 teaspoon, and 2 teaspoons)
  • 1 bay leaf (fresh or dried)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, grated or minced
  • 1 small onion, peeled and halved
  • 2 fresh sausages, any kind
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 cup arugula or spinach
  • 1 teaspoon aged balsamic vinegar

Directions:

  1. Place the lentils in a sauce pot with water to cover the lentil by 2 inches.  Add the bay leaf and onion and bring to a boil.
  2. Boil for 20 to 22 minutes, or until the lentils are tender with a little bite left.  Discard the bay leaf (and onions if desired).
  3. Combine the garlic and 3 tablespoons of the olive oil in a shallow bowl.  Let stand.
  4. Place the sausages in a small pan and add 1/4 inch water and 1 teaspoon olive oil.  Bring the water to a boil over high heat, then reduce to medium-high heat.  Let the water simmer for 8 or so minutes.  Then cook for an extra 3 to 4 minutes to crisp the casing on the sausage.
  5. Toss the greens in the vinegar and remaining olive oil.
  6. Drain the lentils amd toss with garlic oil and parsley.
  7. Serve with sausages on top and arugla on the side.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

