RSS Feed

Whole Wheat Spaghetti with Buttery Tomato Sauce

I love spaghetti.  It’s one of my favorite foods ever, and it doesn’t matter how it’s made, as long as I can eat it.  For one of my favorite foods, I don’t eat very often.  But when I do, I’m always amazed by how versatile spaghetti is.

Like spaghetti sauce.  For the longest time, I wasn’t a fan.  I had no problem eating my spaghetti plain with parmesan cheese.  But I’m warming up to spaghetti sauce, especially because you can do it so many ways.  And sometimes, I’m all about cleaning out the pantry, which can work out really well with something like spaghetti.

This spaghetti is so good!  Especially the sauce.  To me, it was more sherry than buttery, but then again, that is what I get for tasting it while it’s cooking.  It’s simple and doesn’t take forever to make which is always a plus.  Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Spaghetti with Buttery Tomato Sauce

Adapted from the July/August issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound whole wheat spaghetti
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/3 cup dry sherry
  • 1 can (28 to 32 ounce) whole tomatoes (preferably san marzano, but any kind you can get is good)
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 onion, chopped (optional)

Directions:

For the pasta:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Salt and add the pasta.
  2. Cook pasta just shy of all dente.
  3. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water, than drain the rest of the water.

For the tomato sauce:

  1. In a large skillet, melt the butter over medium heat until foaming.  Stir in garlic (and onions if using) for 2 to 3 minutes, then add the sherry.
  2. Stir in the tomatoes and season with salt and pepper.  Lightly crush the tomatoes with potato masher.
  3. Bring the sauce to a bubble.  Lower the heat and then simmer for 20 minutes.
  4. Add the nutmeg, reserved water and pasta.
  5. Toss to combine, serve and topped with grated parmesan cheese.
About wingedcreature

I love reading and I spend a lot of time crocheting. I'm also a big fan of podcasts and t.v.

Leave a Reply

